London Visitor Travel Cards

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 14th, 2003, 07:28 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've searched the forum on this subject, but I find conflicting answers. So, I would like to ask an experienced traveler to the UK should I purchase a 3 day, zone 1 &amp; 2 Visitor Travelcard from www.thetube.com prior to traveling for 13 GBP or just take a picture and pick up tickets at Heathrow when I land? Your answers are appreciated.<BR><BR>Tom
Old Mar 14th, 2003, 08:12 AM

A 3 day,all-day Visitor Travelcard is &pound;12.80.If you buy a daily Travelcard it will cost you a total of &pound;15.30 for 3 days.Both of these cards cover zones 1&amp;2.If you buy the Visitor Travelcard in advance for zones 1&amp;2 you will need to buy an individual extension from LHR,zone 6 to zone 2 for &pound;2.20.
Old Mar 14th, 2003, 08:18 AM

I am not an expert on travel passes and in fact the comparisons among various passes for public transportation usually give me a headache. For all the details, it often seems to me that over a trip of several days, the overall fare differences may not be that significant compared to what I'm spending on the trip as a whole. Maybe it's because I do so much walking and don't take the tube that many times each day, so I know I won't get the worth of the pass. Still, we all like to save money in different ways.<BR><BR>I believe conventional wisdom is that the Visitor Travel Card is not as good a bargain as a 2-zone 7 day travel card bought in London. The latter can be bought at Heathrow, and requires a photo. If you'll be there less than four days, you might just want to buy one-day passes. I think those are good Mon-Fri only, after 9:30.<BR>And then there are carnets...<BR>Ouch.<BR><BR>
Old Mar 14th, 2003, 08:20 AM

If the above is correct, than I am not.
Old Mar 14th, 2003, 10:15 AM