London Transit

Aug 10th, 2007, 12:28 PM
bdj
Original Poster

London Transit

a little help please from those savvy in the london transit scene, please:

how difficult is it to hail a taxi at the national gallery at 5:30pm on a weekday?

what would the be the subsequent commute time to the tower of london?

how difficult is it to hail a taxi at the tower bridge (south end) at 6:45pm on a weekday?

what would be the subsequent commute time to waterloo international?

do london taxis take u.s. credit cards (magnetic strip)?

how many trips on the tube would it take to make a one day zone 1-2 travelcard the better option?

can individual tube trips be purchased with a u.s. credit card?

thanks in advance...bdj
Aug 10th, 2007, 01:21 PM

I shouldn't think you'd have to wait long for a taxi at those times and locations, but I'm no expert. Likewise I can't see why they wouldn't accept old-fashioned credit cards, but I don't know.

At that time of day, the Tower would be closing about the time you got there. For either of those trips I'd allow about 20 minutes.

Single tube fares are designed to be prohibitively expensive: £4 a pop if you're paying singly. No point getting Oyster to pay as you go for just a couple of trips, so get a one-day travelcard. I would suggest buses as a cheaper option except that it sounds as though you're trying to avoid changing money into sterling for small sums. Bus 15 from Trafalgar Square to the Tower and RV1 from Tower Bridge to Waterloo would in any case be more direct options than the tube, though slower than a taxi (and at 5.30, the 15 is likely to be crowded).
Aug 10th, 2007, 10:23 PM

Not all taxis take credit cards. I've no idea how long you're likely to add to your journey by rejecting those that don't. At 1730 and 1845 on a weekday, how long you wait for a taxi depends on the weather: if it's raining, maybe up to half an hour.

And probably longer at the south side of Tower Bridge: no-one drops there, especially after work.