London, day trips and York

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 3rd, 2004, 07:36 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I plan on going to London for two weeks in mid-May. (This is my first time going abroad alone.)

My plan is to stay in London and make several day trips to fairly close sites.

I have two questions:

1. Are all of these places do-able as day trips from London: Canterbury, Jarrow, Bath?
Please suggest other day-trip possibilities.

2. I want to go to York, but I think that would require an overnight. I need help with this: should I check out of the London hotel and lug all my stuff up to York for one night, or just pay for the London hotel that night even though I won't be there?

Thank you so so much,

Christine in Baltimore, MD
Old Apr 3rd, 2004, 07:49 PM

I'm curious why Jarrow

But to answer your questions: Bath, Canterbury and York are all easy day trips from London. Bath is about 90 minuts away by train and York a little over 2 hours.

Bath and Canterbury are very common day trips from London - but York is just as easy since it is a very small, walkable town. All the tourist attractions are within short walks of each other and the train station is right outside the city walls. You could of course do York as an overnighter - but there isn't any reason you couldn't do it as a day trip.

Jarrow is all the way up north near Newcastle.
Old Apr 3rd, 2004, 08:06 PM

1a. Canterbury is 90 minutes by train from London Victoria station.

1b. Not sure where exactly Jarrow is, but from some search it should be near Newcastle. If that's the case, it's actually further North than York. And Newcastle is 3 hours by train from London King's Cross station.

1c. Bath is 90 minutes by train from London Paddington station.