Reload this Page >

London: British Library

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 16th, 2003, 10:07 AM
Degas

Has anyone been here? It's free and I thought it might cool to pop in a see the Gutenburg Bible, da Vinci's notebook and the Magna Carta.

Is it close enough to combine with a visit to the British Museum? Anything else close by?

Old Aug 16th, 2003, 10:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Yes, I've been there and I can rave about the architecture - and I'm an architect. It's a beautiful contemporary building! By all means, go there.

When I've posted here on London queries (what to see, etc), I have always suggested this as a site to visit.

The elegant and historic Bloomsbury quarter is nearby. Somewhat further distant, closer to The City, is the fabulous (architecturally speaking) Barbican Centre, a huge housing and cultural arts complex that is well worth the visit. The scale of the buildings and spaces is just right.
Old Aug 16th, 2003, 01:51 PM

I end up at the British Library about every 3rd or 4th trip to London. Besides the biggies - documents and books that will take your breath away - there are frequent special exhibits. And being such a short walk from Kings Cross, St Pancras and Euston stations makes it really convenient to squeeze in a visit.
Old Aug 16th, 2003, 07:32 PM

The British Library is an easy walk -- perhaps 15 minutes -- from the British Museum. My favorite route is across Russell Square, then a jog over to walk the length of Marchmont and on up through Cartwright Gardens. A lively little neighborhood with fun pubs and cafes, including a pretty good secondhand bookshop.