Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

laptop- using Sprint card?/also cell phone dilemma..

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 7th, 2007, 07:10 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am wondering if you can use a Sprint Broadband card in Europe.

I'm looking into purchasing one in order to have internet access while I'm traveling.

I'm new at overseas travel and have been reading the posts here but didn't see mention of this.

Also- regarding cell phones: I need to make business calls from Europe to the US (I'm self-employed so have to pay for this myself) and have been reading the many posts about cell phones.

I have a Cingular phone and am debating using the .99/minute plan vs getting a
Sim card. There doesn't seem to be an easy solution to this.

Fyi, I will be in Switzerland for a week next week so don't know if it's worth it to buy a phone/ get a sim card for one week.

Thanks in advance for your help!
Old Jun 7th, 2007, 07:29 AM

No, Sprint uses a totally different type of cell system that doesn't exist in Europe.

I'd get the sim card for your phone - just make sure your phone is "unlocked" and that you can switch sims.
Old Jun 7th, 2007, 07:51 AM
sjj

You need to check your cell phone to see if it operates on the European frequencies, 900 and 1800. If it doesn't, you'll have to get one that does, along with a sim, or you'll have to use land lines and a calling card.
For advice on cell phones, try

http://www.prepaidgsm.net/forum/

or the many cell phone posts on this forum.
Old Jun 7th, 2007, 08:05 AM
Original Poster

Thanks ebflo and sjj.

Darn- I was hoping to get better access with my laptop there but it sounds like nothing's available.

Regarding my cell phone- I used it in France all last week on the .99 Cingular plan and had no problem with reception.