Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Just back from Italy: Rome to Positano and in between!!!!

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 14th, 2001, 06:15 PM
Len

The trip was absolutely amazing. Rome is magical, It was like going back in time. Stayed at the Pantheon Hotel which was very nice. Then went to Cassino and my Mom's town of Sant Ambroggio. Phenomenal! Positano was beautiful but you only need a couple of days there. The train was a nightmare but otherwise I can't wait to go back. Any questions please ask.

Old May 14th, 2001, 06:27 PM
kymberlee

Hi, <BR>I am an art student heading to rome with my sister in June. Can you tell me if you know about the subway system, that sort of thing? <BR>thanks, <BR>kymberlee

Old May 14th, 2001, 06:34 PM
Len

I never really used it as you can walk everywhere. Although it seems very big Rome really is not that large. I even walked to the Vatican from my hotel near the Pantheon and it only took 15 minutes. It is easy to walk. There are also many buses going everywhere. I hear the subway system is good I just did not use it. Sorry!

Old May 14th, 2001, 06:38 PM
StCirq

Just out of curiosity, I want to know what you meant by "the train was a nightmare." Having had several "train was a nightmare" experiences in that part of Italy myself, I'd be grateful to hear what happened to you.

Old May 15th, 2001, 02:04 PM
Len