Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page > Itinerary Advice - Castilla y Leon, La Rioja, Basque

Itinerary Advice - Castilla y Leon, La Rioja, Basque

Sep 15th, 2018, 07:52 PM
Original Poster

Hi all, starting to narrow down options for a 2-week trip to Spain next Aug/Sept with my husband, the first 10-11 days in the north, followed by a few days "home" for me in Granada, where I studied abroad in college. Hoping for a trip of casual meandering/exploring, enjoying beautiful views, and eating/drinking our way through each town we visit. This has been one of the hardest trips to plan as there are easily a dozen cities I want to visit but realistically only enough time to see 3-4!

I'm very familiar with ALSA and Renfe and plan to utilize them for traveling between cities. Let me know if you think we should consider a car rental at any point.

(Also, Fodor's search function seems to be down right now, so there's my excuse for asking questions that may or may not have already been answered in other threads. hah! But rest assured I've been trying to read up on travel reports - and appreciate the ones I've already been sent - and have found them all very helpful!)

Here goes:
Madrid: 1-2 nights
Salamanca: 2-3 nights
Valladolid: 1 night OR a stop on the way to...
Burgos/Logroņo/Laguardia/???: 3 nights
San Sebastian/Bilbao: 2 nights

My justifications/questions:

MADRID
Have visited before and it's never been my favorite city for no real reason I can pinpoint. I know two nights will be more sensible for dealing with jet lag.

SALAMANCA
I have heard many of you and others rave about this city and have moved it closer to the top of my must-sees. I want to make sure I do it justice. Suggestions for the best food, tapas, markets, neighborhoods to stay in/explore, and whatever else you think makes this city so unique and wonderful are welcome!

VALLADOLID