Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Italy Honeymoon Itinerary Feedback, please!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 13th, 2006, 02:29 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi all,

I'm a newbie on your boards and was told to look here by "knotties" on theknot.com for planning my honeymoon. I'm planning this for the last two weeks in August this year and flying back to the States right before Labor Day (13 days total in Italy).

I understand it is the hottest time of the year, but we still want to visit this romantic country. It is both our first times to Italy and we want to do the "big 3"; our budget is roughly $4-5K after airfare. I will probably post again to run the hotel suggestions by you all, but for now I want to figure out the timing and spacing of my itinerary.

My two tentative itineraries are listed below. Thank you so much for any feedback.

2 Main Questions:

1) What do you all think of the timing and spacing of the itineraries below? It is really hard to figure out what is too much time in one city and too little time in another, given it is only a 13 day trip in total anyway.

2) What do you think of our inclusion of Volterra?
The reason we are including Volterra is that we are interested in attending the A.D. 1398 Volterra festival on Day 7 of our itinerary (August 27th). It looked neat and something different.

However, I have done a quick search on Volterra here and have read the mixed reviews. Has anyone ever been to this medieval festival? We'd be renting a car for the Tuscany portion of our trip and would be open to other day trips or staying in other Tuscan villages.

http://www.tuscany.la/events/event-i...php?evento=112

Itinerary #1
Aug 21 Arrive Venice in morning stay in Venice
Aug 22 Venice
Aug 23 Venice
Aug 24 Venice
Aug 25 Depart Venice by train to Florence. Pick up rental car in Florence to go to Volterra
Aug 26 Volterra
Aug 27 Volterra, Go to A.D. 1398 Volterra Festival