Italy -1 week

Jun 30th, 2010, 10:34 AM
Original Poster

Italy -1 week

We'll be flying into and out of Rome and have 7 days. We've never been to Europe and don't want to try to cram too much into a weeks time. Really appreciate suggestions. I'm considering: Rome 2 days, Florence-2 days & possibly 1/2 day in Pisa, then on to Cinque Terre for 2 days and back to Rome. (Wish we could fly out of another city and not backtrack but we're retired airline employees (USAirways) and need to fly Charlotte, NC to Rome round trip. Travel dates are July 27-August 4. Hate the thought of missing Venice but feel the downtime at the Italian coast sounds good. Venice might have to be another trip. Your thoughts? We're meeting our adult daughter there. Thanks so much; this is my first time on ANY forum!
Jun 30th, 2010, 10:47 AM

Rome and Florence so hot in your time frame you are simply going to wilt if you try to see the major sights of Rome and Florence in 2 days apiece. And heading all the way to jam-packed le Cinque Terre for some "down time" puts you on a train for literally one full day of your trip, since you say you must be back in Rome. Consider, too, that the shadeless clffis of le Cinque Terre mean hiking very early in the morning -- and that's it. By mid-morning, the place is broiling and the tiny rock beaches have almost no elbow room.

My suggestion to you is to rent a nice large apartment with air conditioning and a terrace in Rome for the entire week. Take a day trip to Florence if you feel like (it's 90 minutes away). Go to Sperlonga for a day trip, or even overnight there. (What you'll be saving on hotel bills will make it doable.)

http://www.italyheaven.co.uk/sperlonga.html

Take Rome at your leisure for the week, with plenty of time to stroll, nap, enjoy the city in the cool of the night. Have your own kitchen so you can have a few light dinner meals before heading out for a gelato by a fountain.