islands in the Seine - Paris hotels

Jul 30th, 2007, 09:12 AM
Original Poster

islands in the Seine - Paris hotels

"What would you think about staying on the Iles St. Claire? This is the island in the Seine that does not have Notre Dame. Would it be easy to get around from there? Is it a long walk to get to the mainland?"

This is a question from a friend planning a Paris honeymoon. Any tips for hotels on any of the islands of the Seine? Seems romantic to me, but I have no experience here. Your help is appreciated.

I'll put the price range around ~200 euro for a double.
Jul 30th, 2007, 09:19 AM

Ile St Louis? Never heard of Iles St Claire at least not by Notre Dame.

Am interested to see wheree these islands are from paris experts.
Jul 30th, 2007, 09:20 AM

Maybe the Ile Saint Louis has been renamed, as it is the capital of lesbian tourists to Paris.
Jul 30th, 2007, 09:22 AM

'not that there's anything wrong with that'
Jul 30th, 2007, 09:23 AM
MaureenB

On the Ille Saint Louis, we saw these two three-star hotels, side-by-side and owned by the same company:
http://www.paris-hotel-lutece.com/

They looked charming, and we really liked the little island location which is just a short bridge away from Parisian sites. Perfect for a honeymoon. Both are within the budget.

A good restaurant we found nearby is Le Caveau de L'Isle, http://www.lecaveaudelisle.com/uk/. We had a very nice and reasonably-priced restaurant there.
>-

Jul 30th, 2007, 09:26 AM
MaureenB

"as it is the capital of lesbian tourists to Paris"-- seriously?? We are a family of four, and we loved this little island location. To say such a thing about it is an irresponsible slur. Don't be deterred from visiting by such garbage.
>-

Jul 30th, 2007, 09:29 AM

assuming you do mean Ile St Louis - it is basically right in the middle of Paris. There is a short bridge to Ile de la Cite (the "island w/ Notre Dame") and short bridges to both the left and right banks.

It would be a great place to stay.