Reload this Page >

is there a doctor on this site?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 25th, 2002, 02:08 PM
jen

Hi-<BR>I moved to Spain from the US on August 1st. I get Strep throat at least once a year (or more) every year of my life. Have it again (too much partying here)...Question: Spanish Doctor only gave me a 4-day dose of Amoxicillin 500mg. (1 pill every 8 hours/12capsules total). <BR><BR>In the States I am always given a 500mg dose every 8 hours for TEN days... Doctors stateside always stress completing the 10 day dose in order to insure the complete eradication and avoidance of recurrence.<BR><BR>Anyone with a medical background...is it weird that I only got a 4-day dose? Thanks!

Old Aug 25th, 2002, 02:41 PM
Melissa

You really shouldn't be asking for medical advice on a travel forum. Go check out Web Md or something...<BR>But since you asked-<BR>I am a nurse, who unfortunately has had a lot of strep throat to boot. Amoxicillin is hardly ever prescribed for just 4 days. It is odd. You probably should be on it longer, or you will most likely get a recurrence.<BR>Hope you feel better soon.

Old Aug 25th, 2002, 02:55 PM
Leslie

Not being a nurse, but having been on Amoxicillin many times, my physician also prescribes 500 mg dosages (500 mg is a high dose), but only 1 tablet every 12 hours, and only for 7 days. I don't think that your body can absorb 1500 mg in one day. It's like taking too much Vitamin C, your body can only absorb so much and then disposes of the rest.

Old Aug 25th, 2002, 03:50 PM
medic

leslie stop giving medical advice especially as youo have no idea of what you are talking about. 500mg is not a hiogh dose and at 2 a day(1000mg) is a very moderate dose. it is given at 2x that amount withopout difficulty and does not get removed like vitamine c. when you do not know the answer correctly and accurately just keep it to yourself before your lousy advice hurts someone

Old Aug 25th, 2002, 03:52 PM
media