Reload this Page >

Internet Payments for Hotels Safe?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 7th, 2002, 03:41 AM
Michelle

Has anyone use the website 'france-hotel-guide' to secure accommodation in Paris? I have never done this before and am concerned about sites that say they have secured credit card payments but in actual fact they do not. I was also told that you should only use credit card payments over the internet if the site has a Netscape icon or padlock icon (Internet Explorer). Any opinions please.

Old Oct 7th, 2002, 04:00 AM
Sue

Hi Michelle. I have no experience with france-hotel-guide but I tend to agree with the suggestion that you assume a site is secure only if the icon is displayed. That said, just because a site isn't 'officially' secure doesn't necessarily mean that it carries any higher risk than oh, say, giving your CC number out over the phone. However, if you have any concerns, you can always split your CC number in half and send half of it in one email, and the other half in another email. Enjoy Paris.

Old Oct 7th, 2002, 09:08 AM
Lesli

I've used this site to browse, but prefer to call my hotels direct when it comes time to actually book. <BR><BR>The booking request form does not even ask for a CC number; it is just to let the hotel know the type of room you would like and the dates you need. I presume the hotel would then e-mail you to let you know availability and rates, and you could then decide whether to reply via e-mail, call, or fax them your credit card details to hold the reservation.

Old Oct 7th, 2002, 09:22 AM
abc