Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

If you were an artist in Provence, what would you paint?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 1st, 2004, 09:21 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi,

I am an artist visiting Provence ( alas, not the Cote D'Azur, this time!) in Septmber/October. I work primarily in watercolor and plan on bringing camera, sketch books, and some paints and paper, though I'll do most of my painting when I return home. My question to all you Fodorites that know Provence so well is: do you have any special places or vistas that a visitng artist might miss? Clearly, what one person thinks beautiful or interesting might not be so to another. For example, on a trip to Italy, in addition to scenery and lots of small perched towns, I photographed store windows, gardens, and toilets. I always look at the wonderful faces in cafes, the birds and flowers in the parks, and the changing faces of children.

What would you paint if you could?
Old Aug 1st, 2004, 09:28 AM
cmt

I used to draw, but not paint. If I had plenty of time to wander around and draw, I'd draw the oldest olive trees, the old men playing boules, the people working on an olive harvest, the barren craggy vertical rocks (forgot what they were called). For painting, I might pick scenes with masses of wildflowers, towns in late afternoon early evening light when the shadows are sharp and the light is amber, and seascapes in a certain odd semicloudy light when the air is green.
Old Aug 1st, 2004, 09:32 AM

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
I love Provence so much, I'd want to paint everything!

to love Provence is to live
Old Aug 1st, 2004, 09:40 AM
Original Poster