Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

If you travel often, right? Do you have your Will?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 15th, 2002, 02:23 AM
Pierre and Mary

I know this is not very pleasant topic but next year we are planning to take a few trips. Unfortunatelly, things do happen and we are thinking about making some changes to our Wills. It seems that lawyers, we spoke to, are charging a small fortune for preparing them. Did you find any inexpensive way to have your Will written?

Old Oct 15th, 2002, 04:37 AM
mj

The good news is you have the foresight to keep your wills current. The bad news is you're trying to skimp on an expense w/potentially profound financial implications for your heir(s) and/or a surviving spouse.<BR><BR>No, I'm not a lawyer. My SO is a registered rep. for a life insurance company and offers the following:<BR><BR>Lawyers are NOT financial "experts".<BR>Financial "experts" are NOT lawyers.<BR><BR>If you want a properly constructed will, use both a lawyer AND a financial advisor.<BR><BR>If have not done so, review your financial goals with a professional and yes, she does this type of thing on a regular basis at no charge to her clients - her fees are derived from commissions for any "products" she sells.<BR><BR>As a normal part of the financial planning process, wills are reviewed and changed to fit financial goals.<BR><BR>My SO (and all financial advisors) work w/lawyers for just such needs and the fee associated w/the will are (usually) less than if you did a "one off" will with an attorney.<BR><BR>In any event, the fee is the fee and you get what you pay for.

Old Oct 15th, 2002, 08:20 AM
Hmm

I think that this is a pertinent, even if unsavory topic. I do not think that it is impossible to find a lawyer with appropriate education and expertise in personal/estate financial planning.<BR>

Old Oct 15th, 2002, 08:34 AM
kfferfg