How hot will it be in July /August??

Oct 4th, 2004, 04:01 PM
Original Poster

How hot will it be in July /August??

I was planning a trip to southwest Germany this summer. I am a teacher and I have to go at this time. I am a person who ALWAYS uses Air Conditioning. Most of the places I am interested in staying at do not have AC. How uncomfortable will I be? Should I wait until I retire and can visit in May or October? What months do you consider the best for this region weatherwise?? Thanks for any advise.

Kathy
Oct 4th, 2004, 04:09 PM

The two summers we were in Germany the weather was both hot and humid. In Aachen I could leave the hotel room (with a/c, thank goodness) for no more than 20 to 30 minutes before having to return and take a shower. Two years ago, of course, was the summer of terrific heat; this year wasn't so bad. So it's hard to predict, but if you don't have a hotel with a/c you could be uncomfortable.
Oct 4th, 2004, 04:12 PM

This summer, although it was considered cool, I would have been uncomfortable without A/C in our hotel room in Berlin, which is rather further north than you are considering. Then again, if we had been able to leave the balcony doors and windows open all night (we were on a noisy street), maybe I could have done okay without the A/C.
Oct 4th, 2004, 05:51 PM

We were in Germany and France in June 2002. It was hot, hot, hot. Wished we had A/C.
Oct 4th, 2004, 07:00 PM

If you always use a/c, you will want to have it in Germany. Hot and humid in the summer. If the hotel doesn't have a/c and you can't afford to pay for one that does, check to see what the cross ventilation is like and spend your day out of the hotel and evening in a beer garden.
Oct 5th, 2004, 04:26 AM

It isn't so much the heat as it is the humidity that you need air conditioning for whichg is why swamp coolers work so well in desert areas.