Reload this Page >

How has it changed your life?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 10th, 2001, 11:36 AM
li

Has travel made an impact on your life? My first trip abroad had such an impact on my life I am wondering if others have had similar experiences. I was 16 and went to a small Japanse town as an AFS exchange student. My host family did not speak a word of English and I didn't speak word of Japanese. I was terribly home sick but I fell in love with Japan and its culture. In college, I majored in East Asian Studies and spent my junior year in Kyoto. After college, I went to Tokyo to work for a few years and later got a Ph.D. in international relations. Please share your story.

Old Aug 10th, 2001, 04:36 PM
Danna

My first trip I was 17... went with a 4H group and got to continue finding myself... oh yeah, fell in love, got to drink, encountered close shaves and close friendships. Fast forward 27 years. Got to plan a trip, have money, know where we were staying on arrival and departure, and nothing in between. Got to spend 3 weeks with my husband of 23+ years (he had never been abroad). We went on an adventure together, figure it out together, take the bus, meet new friends, and remember why we fell in love in the first place. I went with my husband, and left with my husband but we left together with a whole new relationship. He is now suggesting the next itinerary!

Old Aug 11th, 2001, 08:58 AM
John H