Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

How Does Driving in France Differ from in the US?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 3rd, 2019, 03:46 PM
Original Poster

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Preparing for our September driving tour in Brittany, and knowing that France has many speed cameras that levy significant fines for speed beyond 5 kpm over the limit, I started practicing driving at or below the speed limit at home. Bad idea. I garnered angry tailgaters, horns, flashing headlights, hazardous passers, and displays of specially selected fingers. US drivers regard the speed limit as a suggested minimum speed.

So I looked on the internet about driving in France. I find that speed limits are assumed implicitly for many roads, rather than having the limit posted. I assume one can determine the limit without explicit signs, and rain lowers the limit. How much rain? Does the camera know? How? And how is the implicit speed limit made known to drivers without the red circled number? There is a medieval priority to the right rule, but I am a bit unsure how it works in practice. Here in NY, the horn is used to express warning or impatience or as a sonic finger. I found in California that if I pulled over to let others pass on a narrow road, they beeped as a "thank you." How are horns used in France? Are there any other customs of the road that may be new to me? Around here, if someone has a mechanical breakdown of any kind, you often see that car with the hood up. I see that in France there is supposed to be a warning red triangle and a protective yellow vest. Is there a phone number for breakdown assistance?

Anything else, legal or culturally that would be good to know?

Thanks!
Old Jun 3rd, 2019, 03:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts