Hotels.com gets an A

Sep 15th, 2006, 05:06 AM
Original Poster

Hotels.com gets an A

I'm someone that is very critical of bad service, but will also applaud good service. Hotels.com gets a standing ovation.

I have never used their service before, so when I needed to make a reservation change, I was expecting the normal forever "hold" then arguing with some phone operator. It was the opposite.

I got right through to their reservation person, told them what I wanted and in less than 60 seconds it was changed and a refund processed. I was actually waiting on the phone not realizing the entire transaction had been completed.

So, Hotels.com, you get a big gold star for outstanding customer service.

Dave
Sep 15th, 2006, 05:29 AM

That's good to hear!
Sep 15th, 2006, 05:59 AM

Okay, but take their online maps with a grain of salt. We booked a hotel in Köln, and the map that printed showed the location well south of the Hbf, around Neumarkt.

The property was actually northeast of the station, on the other side of the river!
Sep 15th, 2006, 06:10 AM

National Geographic sure didn't give them an A in their May/June issue. Seems they give confirmation for reservations without actually making the reservation. Someone booked a resort through them 6 months in advance and got a confirmation. When they arrived at the resort it was full and the resort had a copy of the fax from hotels.com from the day before. They had waited until one day before check-in to try to reserve the room. NG checked their user agreement and it states that they are not responsible for overbooked hotels, strikes or any other event deemed beyond it's control.
NG was able to get the consumer credit vouchers, but says the real problem is a system that allows hotels.com to confirm a nonexistent reservation and then when the customer is inconvenienced, to weasel out of their obligation.
Sep 15th, 2006, 06:14 AM

Is there a discount by booking thru them?