Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Honeymooning in Italy and husband hates wine!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 2nd, 2007, 06:37 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

We will be in Rome at the end of February, and I would like my husband to enjoy a bottle of wine with me. Any suggestions on a wine he might like? He likes to claim it all tastes like church wine!
Thanks!
Old Jan 2nd, 2007, 06:49 AM

What would he prefer to drink instead?

My Italian favorites (right now) are Nebbiolo (red) and Gavi di Gavi (white).
Old Jan 2nd, 2007, 06:51 AM

Ask the waiter to recommend his favorite Chianti ... and ask for an older bottle (perhaps 2003 or earlier). Red wines get mellow as they age. Not that I'm an expert on wines!
Old Jan 2nd, 2007, 06:58 AM
Original Poster

Thanks for the advice.
He's a beer drinker, through and through, but I'm determined to convert him...
Old Jan 2nd, 2007, 07:14 AM
ira

Hi M,

>Honeymooning in Italy and husband hates wine!<

So? You drink the wine and let him drink beer.

Old Jan 2nd, 2007, 07:31 AM

Ira's suggestion sounds like a wise one! We went to a birthday party last night, and our neighbor, who has decided to try to drink red wine "because it's good for you," took a few sips of what we considered a nice cab and said it was absolutely awful, so sour! I suggested perhaps a better term would be dry. She was convinced it was an acquired taste, as it tasted like awful medicine.

Now, I have no idea if your husband feels this strongly, but the old saying, "You can lead a horse to water, etc., etc." might apply. Why try to convert him? Let him enjoy his beer and you do likewise with your wine.

Happy Honeymoon!
Old Jan 2nd, 2007, 07:51 AM

Get a 1/4 or 1/2 liter carafe of house red, which will set you back about $4-$8 in Rome. Roman table wines are usually quite drinkable, and very inexpensive. That way, if he really does dislike it, you won't be out too much money.