Search

Help with trip decisions?

Search this Thread

Old Dec 4th, 2006, 08:07 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help with trip decisions?

Hello,

I am a novice on this site, just signed up today. My family and I, (wife + 2 teenage boys 17 &15) are in the process of planning a trip to Italy. Very confused and frustrated with which way to go, independant travel or guided coach tour. We want to hit the toursist spots,Vatican, Venice,etc... (1st time overseas) but also do not want to be pushed into optional tours and shops from a commission based tour guide. We would like to spend 12 days in Italy. I have an uncle in Rome wih lots of 2nd cousins all about. My Grandmother was born outside of Rome in a small village. I'd like to hit the tourist highlights, but also spend time with my Italian relatives for a behind the scenes tour. I would very much appreciate and help, advice or suggestion from people more seasoned than I. Looking forward to Italy. One last hurrah before my eldest son goes away to college.

P.S. Since we have never done any type of tour before. We are worrried that our boys will be bored, and not have anyone their age aboard. Any opinions on companies to seek out or avoid???

Thanks in advance...

Jboz

Old Dec 4th, 2006, 08:13 AM

Hi Jboz,

You might get more answers if you re-post with a more specific title like, "Rome and Venice -- do a tour or DIY?"

That way Italy experts will know to click.

(Unfortunately I'm not one of 'em...sorry!)
Old Dec 4th, 2006, 08:16 AM
Original Poster

Thanks for the advice. Just re-posted
Old Dec 4th, 2006, 08:25 AM

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Hi, Jboz1 - the suggestion that you repost mentioning italy in the title is a good one, but you may still get some replies from nosey people like me.