Search

Help with pre-cruise stay in Amsterdam in Aug

Search this Thread

Old Apr 24th, 2013, 05:08 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi everyone.
I hope someone can help as I am clueless and chances are I might get some help.

I will be taking a cruise in August (2013) starting in Amsterdam. I will be traveling by myself with my 21 month old baby girl. My husband does not like traveling and I'm "addicted" to traveling.

I have never visit Amsterdam before and I've heard is beautiful. I need to know what is the best/ safest area / hotel to stay at. It will be happy to stay at least a 4 star hotel. Also, how long should I stay? Im looking at least 3 days not including the day I get there and the day I get onboard the cruise.

One last thing, I am a chef.... any restaurant recommendations???
Thanks to all of you who take the time to answer.
Old Apr 24th, 2013, 05:25 PM

http://www.fodors.com/community/euro...ite-things.cfm
Old Apr 25th, 2013, 09:17 AM

One last thing, I am a chef.... any restaurant recommendations???>

One of the most famous restaurants in Amsterdam is the Keuken van 1870 - featuring down-home Dutch food - a set meal for a really low price so if wanting to eat traditional Dutch food like folks ate in 1870 head here - but this is not a gourmet place.

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaur..._Province.html
Old Apr 25th, 2013, 09:25 AM

According to yelp, Keuken van 1870 has closed.
Old Apr 26th, 2013, 04:20 AM

Wow - an iconic place - I guess folks just do not want authentic traditional Dutch food - even the Dutch - Amsterdam's restaurants are mainly IME ethnic ones from all around the world. Its Chinese-Indonesian restaurants are famous for the Rice Table - may be the signature meal in all of Holland.
Old Apr 26th, 2013, 04:50 AM

There are of course loads of traditional Dutch restaurants around.
Like this one maybe.....
http://www.pietdeleeuw.nl/