Old Jan 31st, 2008, 11:19 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help with Paris to Lyon

I'm hoping someone can help me with the following:

I'm arriving at CDG airport and want to take the train to Lyon:

how do I get to the train station?

How much time should I allow?

Can I book the train ticket in advance from North America?

Arriving in Lyon:

What's the name of the station?

Does anyone know of a hotel that has a car rental counter at the hotel?

Many thanks
Old Jan 31st, 2008, 12:02 PM

Hi there oneword....I have limited knowledge, but I was concidring that route as well and there are some very knowledgeable ppl such as StCirq, StuDudley, AnselmeAdorne,to name only a small few. One site that could be of interest as far as the rail is concerned is www.raileurope.com also www.bahn.de I'm sure you will get some very valuable info such as I did. There are car rentals availabe if I recall correctly at the train station in Lyon.
Good luck and dont forget "google" can be your best research tool as well. Bon Voyage!
Old Jan 31st, 2008, 12:10 PM

I did that trip in Nov 2005. The TGV station is located at the airport, beyond Terminal 2E. It is located in the same area as the RER station, follow the train signs.

You board there, exit at Part-Dieu station in Lyon. Trip is ~2.5 hrs.

At Part-Dieu you can access metro from there. This area is a bit away from central Lyon (Old Town) if you were to walk.

I bought my ticket while sitting at my desk in Toronto, and printed it out here. Look for PREM tickets, wich are very low cost, but non-refundable tickets. If you do a search for MorganB, he did a fine thread on buying tickets.

Lyon is great.
Old Jan 31st, 2008, 12:17 PM