Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Help need an itinerary for a 7 day Italy trip

Sep 9th, 2006, 10:44 PM
Original Poster

I am new to Italy and have never been there.
I am planning to visit Italy (from San Francisco)in December.I am planning to spend about 5 days and cover Rome, Florence and Venice. I would like to avoid museums unless they are world famous (may be one or two). I would certainly like to see the
"leaning tower of pisa".
I am planning to fly into Rome first.
How far is Pisa, Florence and Venice from Rome? Can I stay in Rome and cover all these places or do I need to checkin to the hotels in those places?

Thanks in advance!
Sep 10th, 2006, 12:48 AM

5 days is a very short time to see these places.

You can do Florence as a day trip from Rome but Venice is a long trip.

Personally I would not go to Pisa with such a short time - it would be wasting a valuable day.

I suggest selecting two cities and spending time there. My recommendation would be Rome and Venice (mainly because Florence is more about art and museums that the other 2).
Sep 10th, 2006, 06:04 AM
ira

Hi go,

Is this part of a larger visit to Europe?

This is a very rapid rush through Italy.

Sep 10th, 2006, 06:12 AM
ira

PS,

>I would like to avoid museums unless they are world famous.<

Hmmmm.

Borghese, Vatican in Rome.

Accademia, Uffizi, Bargello, Pitti in Florence

Accademia, Correr, Guggenheim, Rezzonico, San Rocco in Venice.

Sep 10th, 2006, 06:13 AM

Wow.

You can't even skim the highlights of Rome in only 5 days (even with no museums).

You should strongly rethink this and consider just visiting to Venice OR Florence (w/ day trip to Pisa) OR Rome.

Two full weeks is what you need to do see all four cities.

Sep 10th, 2006, 06:52 AM

gopinathpc, You don't want to spend all of your time traveling between cities!