German Rail Pass or ???

Search

German Rail Pass or ???

Search this Thread

Old Jun 14th, 2011, 01:33 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
German Rail Pass or ???

I need help determining which would be the best for me - point to point tickets or a rail pass. I want to visit 5 villages/cities in Germany and a small village south of Interlaken, Switzerland. I'm having trouble with the rail Europe website. Also, when I try to research it I get the message that Staufen, Germany is not accessible by rail, but I know from Rick Steves that it is. So . . . . I am confused and need help.
Old Jun 14th, 2011, 01:39 PM
J62

I'm not a railpass expert, so my only recommendation is to look at the German RR website www.bahn.de. There are a variety of countrywide or regional passes available that may be good for your needs.
Old Jun 14th, 2011, 02:54 PM

The raileurope site does NOT show all trains. The German rail site above is the best place to look. Check www.railsaver.com to see if a pass makes sense with your itinerary.

~Liz
Old Jun 14th, 2011, 04:04 PM

We can't help you with p2p decisions unless you provide the names of your destinations. Also: are you traveling alone? Do you have specific travel dates?

You should ditch the Rail Europe site as a source of information. Here's a direct link to the German railways scheduling info (but it won't provide complete price info.)

http://reiseauskunft.bahn.de/bin/query.exe/en
Old Jun 15th, 2011, 07:32 AM
Original Poster

This is my planned itinerary:
Frankfurt airport to Bacharach
Bacharach to Cochem
Cochem to Staufen
Staufen to Interlaken, SW
Interlaken to Luzern
Luzern to Rothenburg ob du Tauber
Rothenburg to Frankfurt

Thank you for any help you can give.