Friuli-Venezia Giulia - Recs for what to see and places to eat

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 6th, 2009, 01:18 PM
Original Poster

Received 7 Likes on 1 Post

We will be spending 3-4 days at the end of April in BUTTRIO which is outside of Udine. We know about San Danielle ham, but what other great food items can u recommend? Any villages that we should try and see? Thanks
Old Apr 7th, 2009, 08:00 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Yestravel, we occasionally visit my father's family in Friuli (Buia), so I have some experience with that area.

The prosciutto from San Daniele is just amazing, but other regional specialties to try are Montasio cheese, speck (smoked prosciutto), Gubana easter bread, grappa, polenta, and of course the local wines.

Much of area north of Udine was destroyed in the devastating 1976 earthquake, but many of the towns were rebuilt in their original styles. Villages (that I am aware of) that have historical interest are Cividale, Castelmonte, Gemona and Venzone. To the south, Aquileia has some Roman ruins and a great basilica with a beautiful mosaic floor.

I'm not sure how the weather will be in the mountains at that time, but once you get past the industrial area along the autostrada, there are some lovely alpine villages west of Tolmezzo. The drive up to Sauris is fabulous. Sappada is also a great stop. Not much to do up there but hike and take in the beautiful scenery of the Dolomites. They do make their own beer and prosciutto in Sauris though!

If you have a car, I highly recommend going to Slovenia to visit the Postojna caves and Predjama castle. Be sure to take the tour of the caves below the castle foundations!
Old Apr 7th, 2009, 11:27 AM
Original Poster

Great information --thank you so much.
Old Apr 7th, 2009, 03:44 PM