Reload this Page >

French & Italian towns, villages

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 23rd, 2000, 03:58 PM
AG

I am a student planning a trip across Europe this summer. Does anybody have any suggestions for small, out of the way towns in the south of France? I was thinking of Aix-en-Provence, but other suggestions are welcome. <BR> Also, I'm looking for a place to go in Tuscany, near Florence that would be a nice place for nature walking/biking/sightseeing. Once again, suggestions are appreciated. <BR>Thanks a lot.

Old Feb 23rd, 2000, 07:05 PM
Ellen

I think Provence and the Riviera have some great villages but I believe they crowded in the summer. In Provence, there is Gordes, Rousillon, St. Remy and Le Baux to name a few. For the Riviera, Menton, Vence, St. Paul de Vence, Eze village, Cap St. Jean. All great. You may also be interested in the Cinque Terre region if you like scenery and want to hike. <BR> <BR>I have loads of web sites book marked that are easy to send to you if you e-mail me directly. Also, are you at Yale? I work there! <BR>Ellen

Old Feb 27th, 2000, 07:14 AM
Lynn

One unique place we found while driving from Nice to Monaco was the little village of Eze. There's a chateau which is perched 1200 ft. high above the Mediterranean, and it has been converted to a small hotel and restaurant. You have to walk up several stone steps to get up there, but once your there, the view is absolutely breathtaking. You can have coffee sitting outside. It's a great feeling sitting on the cliff with the blue sea below you. There are also small little shops while you climb up to the hotel. It is quite charming and quaint. I don't know what else there is in Eze since we were so taken with this chateau, we were there a few hours, then went on to Monaco. Don't miss Eze, it's very unique. Have fun!

Old Feb 27th, 2000, 09:17 AM
Diane

The old town section of Antibes is quaint. Antibes is just west of Nice.

Old Feb 28th, 2000, 08:04 AM
Pierre Le Fur