France in December

Jul 8th, 2014, 06:05 PM
Original Poster

France in December

Hello All!

I am a graduate student and a few friends and I have decided we would like to do a mini 26 day trip to France and Portugal. Most of Portugal is planned (if you have suggestions that area MUST SEE or DO please share), but I am struggling with planning France. I know we will spend the first four nights, and about 5 days in Paris. From there we were thinking of doing two other smaller areas up in North/East France because most travel suggestions around December say that is the place to go.

I originally was thinking Reims and Strasbourg... But I read a few things saying Reims has changed a great deal and is now half the wonder it used to be.

So I still think we will stick with Strasbourg- I have to see those Christmas Markets! But I need some suggestions for the final stop... I also began looking into Dijon, and Nancy. Any suggestions? I need help

remember we are students! on a bit of a budget, looking for great day time museums, and a fun night life if possible!
Jul 8th, 2014, 06:06 PM
Original Poster

we are traveling from dec 15 to jan 8
Jul 8th, 2014, 11:37 PM

We loved Strasbourg at Xmas! We also love Dijon!

How much time do you have for this particular part if your trip?
Jul 9th, 2014, 04:23 AM

The cathedral at Reims is spectacular but there won't be many Champagne houses open for tours and tasting at that time. You might consider spending the time based in Strasbourg and visiting towns in Alsace.
Jul 9th, 2014, 05:02 AM
Original Poster

Jamikins, we have about 2-4 days without plans (between Paris and Strasbourg).
Jul 9th, 2014, 06:15 AM

From there we were thinking of doing two other smaller areas up in North/East France because most travel suggestions around December say that is the place to go.>