FRANCE by car - Itinerary help!

Old Mar 8th, 2016, 09:39 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
FRANCE by car - Itinerary help!

Hello: Husband and I are ending hike around Mt. Blanc on Sept. 17 in Chamonix and renting a car. We will visit Lausaunne area and then start our drive/tour into France. We have approximately 2 weeks of touring before
ending in Toulouse for flight home. We want to include Bordeaux, Perigord region, Carcassone, Toulouse. We enjoy history, museums, art, hiking, food and wine. I am a baker and always interested in baked goods - sweet and non-sweet. We are ok with basing ourselves somewhere and doing day trips. We have hiked in Alsace & Burgundy and visited the South of France. We do not know Central France. So far, our itinerary looks like this:

9/17 Rent car in Chamonix - drive to Lausanne area; Overnight Lausanne;
9/18 Drive to Annecy - Overnight Annecy;
9/19 Tour Annecy - Overnight Annecy or other town on way to Lyon;
9/20 Tour Lyon - Overnight Lyon;
9/21 Tour Lyon - Overnight Lyon;
9/22 to 10/3 - driving tour (12 days);
10/4 Return car - Overnight Toulouse;
10/5 Flight home from Toulouse.

Thank you for all of your always excellent suggestions!
Old Mar 8th, 2016, 10:32 AM

>>We have ..... visited the South of France.
Old Mar 8th, 2016, 10:58 AM

From Lyon head to the Avignon/Arles area where you can base in a smaller town like St-Remy-de-Provence and do so many neat day trips by car - Les Baux-de-Provence; the Pont du Bard; Avignon and Arles; the Camargue; Uzes and on and on.

Then putz over via Agiues-Mortes (historic port from which some Saint launched some Crusades); Carcassonne (mint-condition medieval citadel town rebuilt from rubble in the 1800s) - go south to some of the neat Pyrenees places perhaps and end up in Toulouse worth a full day in its own right.
Old Mar 8th, 2016, 11:00 AM

Also - Twelve days is not much time.