Fodorites Little known "must sees"

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 26th, 2006, 10:59 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've been perusing this forum for four months in preparation for our trip to Europe in July. I've found so many great tips I can't thank you enough. One of the true jewels are the hints like how to get tickets to the Ceremony of the Keys at the London Tower, or Scavi tour tickets in Rome. I'm looking for those unusual travel spots that most travelers won't get to becasue it is only known to the experienced. I'll list our intenerary (to date) and if you can think of anything please send your thoughts! I haven't listed all the details becasue thepost would be too long but this should get the general schedule in mind.

Arrive London noon July 5th - (Hilton London Olympia) where to lunch? I want to see Picadilly Circus and Trafalgar Square. Then original Walking Tours 7pm "Along the Thames Pub Walk" - is this okay for 16 year old boys?

July 6th - London Tower, Westminster Abbey, Abbey Road? Ceremony of the Keys 10pm

July 7th - 12 Rome staying an apt. in the Trastevere - Vicolo Del Bologna
July 9th Context Tours Roma Antica
July 10th Pompeii (kids really want to go here rather than Ostica)
I've heard tour the Vatican early (8:00am or late 4pm) which is better?

Has anyone heard of Spirito DiVino on Via dei Genovesi (31)? I've heard we should eat there at least once.

July 12-17 Florence - staying in an apt. Piazza Ciompi 4 still don't have tickets to Uffizi and Academia but will do so when I can stay up late to call!

July 13th I Bike Italy tour - olive oil and wine tasting - lunch full day tour

July 17-21 Venice - apt. Sestiere di San marco Sant Angelo - no tours scheduled yet but plan on taking one private gondola with the family in the evening.

July 21-25 Barcelona - plan on touring the Gaudi architecture, parks, we're staying in the Bari Gothic in Placenta dei Pi square. I have the least research in this country to date.