First Trip To Italy

Aug 7th, 2016, 08:25 AM
Original Poster

First Trip To Italy

My husband and I are taking our delayed honeymoon trip to Italy in mid-October! I've been dreaming of taking this trip for about 10 years so I'm definitely trying to squeeze in as much as possible in the roughly two weeks that we'll be there. We're very excited and have entirely too many locations on our must-see list so I would love any advice from the more experienced travelers on what to cut and reserve for our next visit. Here's our plan so far - we're flying into Venice and out of Naples, planning to visit:

Venice (2 nights)
Florence (3 nights)
Cortona (2 nights)
Rome (3 nights)
Naples (4 nights)
Day trips to Amalfi Coast , Pompeii , Positano

We're each planning to only bring a backpack since we'll be traveling so much - so any thoughts on where to store backpacks while we visit touristy spots in the major cities would be really helpful. Really any suggestions are welcome - all we've booked so far is our flight and two nights in Venice so everything else is up in the air.

Thanks in advance for your help!
Aug 7th, 2016, 08:51 AM

That plan looks pretty good actually. I've never been to Naples or Corona, or the Amalfi Coast, though.

I do wonder if Cortona should be a one-night visit, to add the extra night to Rome. Is there a special reason you choose Cortona?

Three nights in Rome is the minimum I'd recommend, because Rome has so much to see and it's slightly spread out.
Aug 7th, 2016, 09:01 AM

I would skip Cortona. Add a night to Venice and Rome.
3 nights Venice
3 nights Florence
4 nights Rome
I would then see if you can book a room in Positano or Amalfi for 2 nights and spend your last 2 nights in Naples. On the way from the Amalfi coast to Naples stop in Pompeii
Aug 7th, 2016, 09:26 AM

It's your trip, your 10-year dream... but...