First Time in Scotland

Sep 5th, 2001, 01:43 PM
Paul Vassallo

First Time in Scotland

My wife and I arrive in London on Sept.16 for five days, departing by train on Sept. 21 for Edinburgh, where we shall be until Sept. 25, when we pick up a car for an eleven day trip driving around Scotland. This is the first visit for both of us in Scotland. Our plans are, in broad terms, to go North towards Aberdeen, then to Inverness, Isle of Skye, Oban, Jura and Islay, possibly Arran, then back to Edinburgh, not including Glasgow in our itinerary. As this is our first trip to Scotland we are not including areas, such as the Borders and the Southern Uplands, which we could visit some other time if we so decide. Any recommendations or comments are appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Sep 5th, 2001, 02:04 PM
travellyn

I'm not a Scotland expert (as some on this site are), but have spent some time travelling there.

Crail and St. Andrews are nice as you drive up the coast on the East side. Loch Ness and Urquhart (sp?) Castle are good for a picnic.

Inverewe Gardens are pretty.

If you go to Oban, it's worth a trip to Mull, especially Tobermory, and Iona (worth a couple of nights to escape the tour crowds). Loch Etive is near Oban, on the sea side of the mountains from Glencoe. It is starkly beautiful - try a boat cruise there. Glencoe is also lovely, of course.

The sealochs south of Oban were amazing to drive by.

The Trossachs are beautiful and hilly. I liked Stirling castle and Loch Katrine (another good place for a boat cruise).

I like Glasgow. Fun people and very lively, with some beautiful spots. I like the Burrell Collection there. It's a museum based on one man's very large and eclectic collection of every kind of applied art.

My relatives who took the night train up to Edinburgh from London got VERY hot in their sleeper car.

For planning, try the Michelin guide to Scotland. It has ratings of various destinations which may be of use to you.

Have a wonderful time!