Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

First time in London/Paris, going alone, need help!

Old Jun 4th, 2009, 01:21 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello everyone,

I am a 22 year old female who recently graduated from college (woohoo!). In August I'm entering medical school and I wanted to plan something fun for my summer before the long hours of learning begin. However, I am really overwhelmed by the planning process! I appreciate any advice you all can offer... I'm completely new at this.

Here's what I have so far:

June 30 noon - arrive LHR
July 1 - London
July 2 - London
July 3 - 5 ????
July 6 - Eurostar to Paris, arrive early afternoon
July 7 - Paris
July 8 - Paris, back to London via Eurostar (late evening) - I don't mind throwing away this return ticket.
July 9 - 12 ????
July 13 - depart from LHR

I have a friend working at Oxford who wanted to accompany me on weekends - therefore, I always made sure to leave from and return to London, and kept my weekends free. However, those plans fell through and I will actually be traveling alone the entire time. Had I known this in advance I would have made plans differently, but now I'm stuck and confused.

Any ideas of what I should do with my weekends? I've been looking at Barcelona for one weekend and Prague for the other weekend but it seems like that will be much traveling and little sightseeing. Wherever I decide to go, I have to find a way to return to London for the subsequent departure to either Paris or the USA (what a waste of time and money!).

Other info: I'm fairly active, easily bored, and like packed schedules; I'm open-minded in terms of destination; I've never travelled alone; I love art museums/cathedrals and do not care for shopping. Also, I don't have a lot of money to throw around (too bad).

Thanks in advance for any input!
Old Jun 4th, 2009, 01:27 PM