Favorite London Walks

Search

Favorite London Walks

Search this Thread

Old Oct 15th, 2003, 05:06 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Favorite London Walks

I'm heading to London over the Christmas Holidays. Since I've been on most of the literary themed London Walks (I'm a lit teacher), I was wondering what other walks members of this board would recommend. Which of the walks really surprised you? Are there any that you wouldn't recommend? I'm talking about the organized London Walks that cost five pounds.
Old Oct 15th, 2003, 06:30 PM

The London Walks I've enjoyed the most have been the "Christopher Wren's London," Hampstead, and "Legal and Illegal London" walks. (The last one was just called "Legal London" when I took it, several years ago; I wonder what's changed since then.)

I also enjoyed the Greenwich walk, but if you go on that walk, I'd recommend allowing extra time on your own after the walk ends to go into places like the Greenwich Royal Observatory, the National Maritime Museum, and the Queen's House. The walk just takes you past those places, and it would be a shame to go to Greenwich without actually going into them.

I thought the Highgate walk wasn't quite up to the standards of the other walks I've mentioned, maybe because Highgate just wasn't as interesting to me as the other areas. Still, if you were thinking of paying a visit to Highgate Cemetery, combining that with the Highgate walk wouldn't be a bad way to spend an afternoon. Otherwise, it's skippable.
Old Oct 15th, 2003, 07:46 PM
Original Poster

Bree--thanks for the info regarding the Greenwich walk. I was thinking about doing it but will make sure I budget in time to explore afterwards.
Old Oct 15th, 2003, 11:50 PM