Reload this Page >

fanny pacs-why you shouldn't wear them

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 5th, 2001, 07:20 PM
andrea

i've seen it on a couple of replies not to wear a fanny pac in Italy--why not? how can someone get into them if they are in front of you close to your body with numerous zippers? any alternative suggestions to carry stuff and keep hands free aside from shoulder bag--

Old Apr 5th, 2001, 07:24 PM
Art

Hi Andrea, I guess some people don't like them because you stand out as a tourest. We are tourests anyway. I have been wearing one for several years turned around as you mentioned and have had mo problems. They can be undone from the back but I find them better for carring than anything else that I've tried.

Old Apr 5th, 2001, 07:31 PM
Deb

Hi Andrea!<BR>You really might want to take a look at Rick Steves' Grafitti Wall regarding safety on his website, www.ricksteves.com. There are dozens of stories about how "brilliant" pickpockets can be. To give you an idea, a couple of young girls approached a tourist "selling maps." One of them opened a map in front of the tourist above the waist. While the tourist was distracted &amp; a bit surprised by this, the other girl quickly unzipped her fanny pack to rob her. And public transportation is a hotbed, because of the close quarters. Anyway, I'm not trying to freak you out. You just need to be careful &amp; heed warnings such as the ones you've read about. People may say that it's just like being in any big city - but when you're on your first overseas trip, the language barrier (if you're not fluent) can make things a little more overwhelming and of course disorienting.

Old Apr 5th, 2001, 07:55 PM
Lucy

Just as a point of interest, as an Australian I might also warn you not to be surprised if others overseas are shocked when you refer to them as fanny packs - both here &amp; in the UK fanny means a different part of the anatomy altogether!

Old Apr 5th, 2001, 10:25 PM
Sue