Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Europe Trip this Summer/Fall.... Advice needed!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 8th, 2008, 08:41 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Aloha travelers!

My husband and I are taking a trip in September, a modified backpacking trip of sorts. I'm just beginning the planning process, so I will take all the help I can get, as I have never been to Europe.

We are going for 2.5 weeks. We plan on flying into London, staying for about 4 days (1 day jetlag recovery), then flying to Hannover Germany to visit family, staying in Germany for about 8-9 days. While in Germany, we will visit Berlin and go to Munich for Oktoberfest. Then, on our way back, we are going through Paris, and staying there for 3 days.

Here are a few questions I have... if you can offer advice or suggestions on any of the below, I appreciate it!

1. Where would you suggest booking a multi-city trip? (travel agents, travel sites, etc)

2. Where would you suggest staying in these places (Hotels, bed and breakfasts, etc)

3. What "must-sees" and "must-dos" would you recommend?

4. What backpack would you suggest?

5. What key items do you suggest we'll need?

6. Would you make and adjustments to the above schedule?

7. Any other comments, suggestions, ideas are welcome!

Thanks in advance for your help!!!!

Old Jan 8th, 2008, 09:37 AM

I'd star by looking at guide books, or the Destination link above and see what sights you are interested in. DO you like museums? History? Architecture?
Old Jan 8th, 2008, 09:49 AM

If going by rail

www.ricksteves.com has lots about European trains, passes, etc.

www.budgeteuropetravel.com has also lots on their improving site and provides the excellent free European Rail & Planning Guide that is a good primer for anyone not familiar with the rail system

www.eurostar.com for the Eurostar trains that are IMO the best way to go between London and the Continent