Search

Europe travel for foodies on a budget!

Search this Thread

Old Dec 6th, 2014, 03:50 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Europe travel for foodies on a budget!

Hello wonderful people of the internet!

I'm just beginning to plan a 3 week spring time vacation in Europe and I was wondering if any of you have suggestions for cities/places to visit. Here are a few things about me:

1. I would like to see Spain and France at the least
2. I will be travelling with my girlfriend (we are in our late 20's)
3. We are huge foodies and love wine
4. We would prefer to try local foods (not creative/fusion/modern/michelin star restaurants)
5. Our budget for the trip is 2500 euros per person
6. We speak English + Broken Spanish + Very broken French

Any/all advice is greatly appreciated, and thanks for reading!
Jim
Old Dec 6th, 2014, 04:17 PM

If you want restaurant meals, then lunch will be cheaper than dinner.

If you want picnics, try to find an outdoor market each morning and collect food for your lunch. You'll find local breads, cheeses, sausages, strawberries, salad greens, and so on.

You might also enjoy a visit to a supermarket. The dairy section is always amazing to me. There's usually a section of local products like cookies, grains, honey, galettes, jars of rillettes. The chocolate bar selection at a Leclerc is one of the 7 wonders of the world--I may be exaggerating just a little.
Old Dec 6th, 2014, 04:40 PM
Original Poster

Thanks! Any recommendations for cities to go to in Spain? Or specific outdoor markets?

Also we are less interested in cooking ourselves
Old Dec 6th, 2014, 04:57 PM

Spain is terrific destination for travelers on a budget. You can eat tapa and pintos and other small bites, which is a marvelous experience in itself, but if you are a food tourist, it also gives you an opportunity to sample a wide array of the local treats without spending a lot of money.