Reload this Page >

Driving Miss Crazy

Search

Driving Miss Crazy

Search this Thread

Old May 6th, 1999, 11:12 PM
D.B.

Driving Miss Crazy

Here's a thread: there are many posts regarding driving and car rentals around Europe, what is your anecdote, horror story, or catharsis in this domain? For the Europeans and Aussies: what is it you have found strange about driving in the U.S. -- other than the obvious right/left side thing and green/blue traffic lights? <BR>

Old May 7th, 1999, 03:49 AM
Jan

One thing stands out...no roundabouts! <BR>

Old May 7th, 1999, 05:50 AM
Bob Brown

No roundabouts? What do you call those circles in DC and Boston???

Old May 7th, 1999, 09:04 AM
cherie

I am a Veteran on navigating the Arc d' Triomphe at rush hour in a brand new Renault Safrane Rental!!!!My husband said I am responsible for anything coming at us from the right as their right- of- way laws are different than USA. I am still waiting to pass the street he was looking for, however, as I never saw "George Sank"...we did pass George V a long time ago.... <BR> <BR>And also, roundabouts, as anyone from Washington, DC would know, are those clever "here I come ready or not...make your position clear" turn off circles. Drive through the French Countryside and all the exits are roundabouts. They're quite easy if you warn the driver to exit at 3:00 (three o'clock), etc. or take the third one...etc.

Old May 7th, 1999, 09:45 AM
gregoire