Czernowitz in Czech Republic not Ukraine

Mar 12th, 2011, 01:18 PM
Original Poster

Czernowitz in Czech Republic not Ukraine

We are looking to do genealogical exploration and want to find out if there is anything remaining of this town. We believe it is north of Vienna and South east of Prague. Its' borders changed between Czech and Austria during the past wars.
Mar 12th, 2011, 08:23 PM

Bob, Sue:

some possible help:

www.jewishgen.org/

www.jewishgen.org/Communities

I have done extensive travel and research throughout Eastern and Central Europe over the past several decades. JGS was my #1 resource...you don't need any affiliation with the Jewish community to ask for their help. I'm a writer and they have helped me immeasurably. It would help if you had a ship's manifest for any reatives who emigrated from the region. Other than the large well-known Ukrainian (formerly Austro-Hngarian and Romanian) city you mention, I could find nothing. It's likely your spelling or pronunciaton of the town you seek is a bit off. We fouund my wife's mother's teen-age home in 1993(Miedzrych, Poland) and also her birth village (Domaechevo) in Belarus last year. Both towns were terminally destroyed in 1941-42, but were restored in recent years.
Bob, Sue..Contact me off board if you wish..perhas I can be of more definitive help once I know more about the background of your emigrating family. There are an amzaing number of clues that can be found that way.

Stuart Tower (L.A.) [email protected]
Mar 12th, 2011, 08:50 PM

Just ran this search...no match:

http://data.jewishgen.org/wconnect/w...~shtetlmaster2
Mar 12th, 2011, 11:05 PM

bob_susan