Croatia, A Week in late May 2011

Nov 2nd, 2010, 08:49 PM
Original Poster

Croatia, A Week in late May 2011

Hello All.

I'm new to Fodors, but not to travel. I'm a 63yo man travelling alone.

I am seeking advice from the experienced people here to help plan a week late next May in Croatia. I will be travelling from Switzerland, probably by train via Milan, sometime between Wed 25th and Sat 28th, and I must depart for Russia to arrive am hours on Sat 4th June for a cruise departing St Petersburg that afternoon. So arrival is flexible but departure is not.

I've been looking at the Adriagate Dalmatian cruises. They look good but seem very cheap - does that imply a problem? I don't mind cheap, the budget is important, but I'm more a flashpacker than a backpacker. The other cruises look a bit expensive.

I am open to any ideas on getting around Croatia, places to stay, sights that must be seen and events or festivals that should not be missed at that time.

I can't seem to find a direct flight to St Petersburg yet; it looks like I may have to go via either Helsinki or Budapest. Ideas on that would also be appreciated.

Thanks in advance for any information.

Cheers, Alan
http://loraltravel.blogspot.com/
Nov 6th, 2010, 01:52 PM

May is a beautiful month to experience Croatia. My experience is mainly with Dubrovnik which is heaven on earth in my opinion, although you'll have to share it with throngs of tourists arriving via motorcoach and cruise ships.

There are no trains to Dubrovnik (although there is train service in other parts of the country), but we had no problem driving there and there is bus service.

One thing you learn about the Balkans fairly quickly is that it's not the easiest area of the world to get into and out of, (nor is it inexpensive) so I'm not surprised that you're struggling to find good flights. You might try Austrian or Lufthansa from either Dubrovnik or Split if you haven't already.

Ellen
Nov 6th, 2010, 02:22 PM