Credit Unions & foreign exchange fees

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 2nd, 2010, 01:06 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I opened an account at a local credit union to use for our trip to Italy in May.I was originally told there would be a charge of 1.25 for each ATM withdrawal, I didn't bother to ask if there were any other fees. Today I found out that the credit union does not charge a foreign transaction fee, but Mastercard and Visa do. I did get a Capital One credit card to use to pay for hotels (that accept cc's) and purchases as they do not charge foreign exchange fees.
Old Mar 2nd, 2010, 05:22 PM

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
I have a Mastercard from my credit union and they don't tack on the fees that a non- credit union Mastercard would have.
Old Mar 3rd, 2010, 04:52 AM

Yup, same with out credit union...no fees.

~Liz
Old Mar 3rd, 2010, 06:05 AM
ira

Hey bx,

>...I found out that the credit union does not charge a foreign transaction fee, but Mastercard and Visa do.....I did get a Capital One credit card to use to pay for hotels (that accept cc's) and purchases as they do not charge foreign exchange fees.<

CapitalOne will pass along the 1% MC/VISA fee, as will your credit union.
If you use Amex, they will add 2%.

However, "foreign transaction" fees are those added by your bank - often about 3%.

Your CC is as good as you can get, except that my bank charges only $0.75 to use an "out of network" ATM.

Enjoy your visit.

Old Mar 3rd, 2010, 06:44 AM

I have 2 credit union accounts. Both charge nothing for ATM withdrawals abroad. I have Visa credit cards from both; there is no surcharge. However, both the ATM withdrawals and credit card charges show a 1% Visa system charge. Otherwise the exchange rate is the interbank rate of that day.

The Capitol One credit card is supposed to eat the 1%; maybe that's no longer true.

We use only the credit union cards (credit and ATM) in Europe. Never had a problem getting money from an ATM.