credit cards and atms in france

Old Apr 24th, 2005, 11:22 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
credit cards and atms in france

Just got back from a weekend in Normandy and had various experiences with credit cards and atms that I thought I'd pass along.

ATM's: I had no problem using a four digit code at any machine. I have a US and a UK bankcards and both worked just fine.

Credit cards: Europe is trying to use "chip and pin" all over. Use of credit cards was mixed. I have a UK mastercard with a pin, but my bank hasn't given me the pin yet (it's on my to do list and been bumped WAY up after this weekend!!) IN one cafe and one store a "chip-less or pin'less card could not be used. I had to pay with cash.
From what I could tell, some stores have credit card machines that will take either old style signature cards or the chip and pin new cards.
I know that many US credit cards can be used with a pin number to take out cash. Perhaps setting a pin number (or finding the bank issued number) is worth it before setting off to Europe!
It's a bit frustrating and from my experience, varies from store to store. I spent close to 100 euros in one store and was able to use a credit card. When I tried to buy a shirt for 19 euros next door, the card was rejected. I showed the receipt from the other store, but there was nothing they could do. Made me wish for the old carbon machines!
Old Apr 24th, 2005, 11:34 AM

<< Europe is trying to use "chip and pin" all over>>

They aren't "trying to; we've had the chip and have been using pin numbers since the mid '80s. BUT, when I use my French card in a Belgian store, I can't use the pin number - I have to sign the slip.
And foreign cards, even with pin numbers, won't work at the self-serve gas pumps either.

Oftentimes you'll find a credit card (most often Amex) "refused" because it costs them too much and they prefer getting their money right away (Visa or Mastercard are the favorites).

Patricia
Old Apr 24th, 2005, 11:52 AM