Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Copenhagen, Stockholm, Oslo, Bergen Hotels -- What're the useful tricks and websites?

Search

Copenhagen, Stockholm, Oslo, Bergen Hotels -- What're the useful tricks and websites?

Search this Thread

Old Apr 20th, 2005, 09:08 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi, I need to book some hotels for these cities. Any particularly useful websites I should look at? I'm very flexible. I'll be with my mom, so I want her to be comfortable, but we're not picky.

Priceline seems to offer Copenhagen.

I'll also take hotel recommendations obviously.

Thanks!

(I'm studying Priceline for London as we speak.)
Old Apr 20th, 2005, 09:09 AM
Original Poster

I'll be there the last week of May.
Old Apr 20th, 2005, 09:51 AM

These places, esp Norway and Sweden rarely offer the attractive deals on international booking sites - mainly the boring expense account places. I just noticed that the excellant venere.com is starting to cover Norway and Sweden with maybe a few good alternatives.

Failing that, for Norway I usually do best by some Norwegian hotel lists that are either govt web sites, or regional govt or sort of chamber of commerce type things that give email contacts for cute guesthouses or boutique mini hotels. You can find with google or whatever.

For Stockholm I flail around with web searches and do lots of followup. Definately go to the hotel's own web site for special deals and cross check with other offerings of same place to save a lot of money or be able to upgrade.
Old Apr 20th, 2005, 09:58 AM

Be cautious about Priceline in Copenhagen. I bid for a 3* and got the Mermaid. You can read the reviews on TripAdvisor. Bottom line - I was very happy with it, especially the location and breakfast, but the bathroom falls far short of American standards.