choices re: Vaux, Loire Valley, Provence

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 15th, 2004, 06:10 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This is my first time, so there may be too many questions here - sorry in advance. My wife and I and our 2 sons (14 and 11) are spending 2 weeks in France at the end of July / beginning of August. We are spending one week at a chateau in the Loire Valley, and we are spending the second week driving through the Massif Central to Provence and on to the Riviera. On our first day, on the way from CDG Airport to the Loire Valley, we would like to visit either Vaux Le Vicomte OR Fountainebleau. Which is the better choice for travelers whose experience of France has been confined to Paris and Versailles? Also, any thoughts as to the "must see" chateaux of the Loire Valley, considering guided tours in English, history, furnishings & grounds? Same question for "must see" towns around Avignon? Thanks in advance!
Old Jul 15th, 2004, 06:25 PM

In the Loire valley the usual suspects are the 3 C's: Chenonceau, Chambord and Cheverny.

Chambord is sparsely furnished but has the double helix stair case and is huge. It has literally hundreds of rooms. Chenonceau has beautiful gardens and an exquisite location straddling the Loire. It has some furnnishings. Cheverny is still richly furnished. It's the only one of the 3 I've not been to.

Most of the Loire chateau were pleasure palaces for royalty. For real history I suggest Amboise, Chinon (though it's a ruin) and Blois. I liked the sound & light show at Blois. It used to run one night a week in English.

I took my niece then 14 and nephew then 13 through the Loire in 2001. I really recommend you keep the chateau viewing to 1 per day max. It's easy for me to get chateau-ed out and I'm over 40.