Reload this Page >

Changes in the food in London

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 12th, 2002, 12:59 PM
monica

I have just returned from an excellent vacation in London!! After every trip to London, I think about the places I visited, the people I met, the countless pints I drank and the vast quantities of food I consumed. It is the food that I keep thinking of and I am wondering what happened to the traditional pub food? I studied abroad in London 10 year ago when only English food could be found on a pub menu. Now it seems that you will find a couple of traditional items and then a lot of American and other food. What happened to Sheperd's pie and Toad in the hole and my favorite..... apple crumble with custard sauce. My friends who are English and live there did not agree with the disappearance of tradional food until we tried looking for an apple crumble and they had to search the web. I don't think this is an extremely important point just a curious one especially to those who travelled to London years ago. And while I am at it, it is strange to see fish and chip shops with Kebobs . Anyway food for thought. Even without my apple crumble, London is incredible!!!!

Old Jul 12th, 2002, 10:22 PM
mpprh

Hi<BR><BR>Don't worry, traditional English food still lives in country pubs outside London !<BR><BR>Peter<BR>http://tlp.netfirms.com

Old Jul 12th, 2002, 11:40 PM
sylvia

Have a look at the Traditional English Reataurants in London page at http://www.english-restaurants.com/english/<BR><BR>Pub menus have changed though. I was in a pub in Keswick and on their menu was a section called traditional old favourites. As well as bangers and mash (very good bangers they were too), steak and kidney pie etc. they had lasagne and chicken tikka.

Old Jul 13th, 2002, 12:08 AM
Ben Haines