Reload this Page >

Cash advance on Credit Card

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 20th, 2000, 08:16 AM
Mike

I have heard two different things about getting a cash advance on a credit.....one, that it is a good way to get money, and get a good exchange rate, and you can pay it back in the future.....and two, that the interset is ridiculous and that you shouldn't do it. Has anyone done this, and what are the pro's and con's. I am a graduating college student and don't have a lot of money, so was hoping to use the credit line to enjoy my trip to Paris. <BR> <BR>thanks.

Old Apr 20th, 2000, 08:24 AM
sheri

It totally depends on the terms of the particular credit card. Many have high, high interest rates for cash advances (higher than the rate on purchases or balance transfers), and they charge a fee for each advance (usually a percentage of the amount). So your best bet would be to use the card for purchases (hotels, restaurants, etc) rather than getting cash advances to pay for these things. <BR> <BR>You should call your card issuer and find out what the deal is.

Old Apr 20th, 2000, 08:38 AM
Edward

Mike---I would never get a cash advance on my credit card. Unlike with purchases where you don't have to pay interest if you pay the balance every month, if I get a cash advance the interest starts accruing immediately. All cards I've ever had had that provision. I prefer using credit cards for purchases and ATMs for cash.

Old Apr 20th, 2000, 08:49 AM
pam