Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Can anyone recommend a Spanish language school in Spain?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 15th, 2007, 12:48 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I want to study Spanish for a month somewhere in Spain other than in Madrid, as I studied there in 2000.

I know there are a zillion schools, but I'm interested in one which has some older students--since I'm in what the Spaniards call "the third age." That's a lovely way of saying that I am collecting Social Security, though I'm sorry to say it's only $99 a month in my case.

I prefer to live in a student residence, as long as there are other older students. I don't care to live with a family.

Does anyone know of a school such as I describe? I'd appreciate any suggestions.
Old Oct 15th, 2007, 01:18 PM

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
My daughter's high school Spanish teacher always used Enforex in Salamanca. She thought that area had the purest dialect and liked the quality of classes. She would usually take a group for three weeks every summer. The classes aren't limited to high school students.
http://www.enforex.com/courses-spain.html
Old Oct 17th, 2007, 03:53 AM

Totally agree that Salamanca is a great place to go to learn Spanish.

It is a very beautiful city, a very manageable-sized city centre for strolling round and getting to classes in - but it is close to Madrid and Segovia by train or bus for a break away.

The university does lots of summer-school courses, and can arrange accommodation.

They are very flexible about the length of courses. Some people go for the whole summer, but I did a week's intermediate course there (a long time ago, I admit) and they found me a room in a shared house (with people from all over the world).

There were plenty of older people there, but of course, the majority were younger.
Old Oct 17th, 2007, 06:21 AM

Hi pegontheroad,