bubble & sqeak: Information, please.

Old Jul 19th, 2002, 07:17 AM
REDRUM

bubble & sqeak: Information, please.

I was just reading the post on the English desert dish, Spotted Dick, and that raises a question of my own concerning British cuisine:<BR><BR>What is Bubble and Squeak? Is it good? Do you have a recipe?<BR>

Old Jul 19th, 2002, 07:28 AM
pat

It is a saugage and potato dish. You fry up some link sausages (the squeak). In a separate pan you boil some chunked up potatoes (the bubble) After you fry the sausages, you drain the grease out of the skillet, add the drained potatoes to the skillet, and also add chopped cabbage. You cook it just for a few minutes until the cabbage gets done. Something that used to be cooked over fires a long time ago. It`s not bad.

Old Jul 19th, 2002, 07:39 AM
elaine

I don't havemy own recipe, but I am a cook and I think the "squeak" is the cabbage.<BR>Is it good? The most PC thing I can think of is that it's an acquired taste.<BR><BR>

Old Jul 19th, 2002, 07:42 AM
David West

it's absolutly luvverly.<BR><BR>Its fried, pre cooked potatoes and cabbage (or similar brassica), and goes with just about everything.<BR><BR>Its very fatening as it absorbs a lot of oil in cooking.<BR><BR>Imagine colcannon fried.

Old Jul 19th, 2002, 07:47 AM
david west

recipe here:<BR><BR>http://www.foodfunandfacts.com/bubbleandsqueak.htm<BR><BR>

Old Jul 19th, 2002, 08:24 AM
Sheila

No sausage-just potatoes and brassicas.

Old Jul 19th, 2002, 10:42 AM
janis

Sheila is right - no sausages. The moisture in the cabbage "squeaks" when it hits the hot grease/potatoes.<BR><BR>May sound weird but it is really yummy.

Old Jul 19th, 2002, 11:12 AM
wes fowler

And what of "toad in the hole" and "chips butty"?

Old Jul 19th, 2002, 11:24 AM
Ruth

1. Sausages in a thick batter base (like yorkshire pudding), baked in the oven.<BR><BR>2. A white bread sandwich containing thick cut chips (fries) and of course butter.

Old Jul 19th, 2002, 11:39 AM
Scooper