Reload this Page >

Bringing medicine from Europe to US

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 2nd, 2001, 10:37 AM
Julie

Last time I went to Europe, I got very sick with the Flu. I went to French Pharmacy and bought cough syrup, antibiotics and some other pills for the flu.<BR><BR>I through it all away before we left the airport. I did not know what was in the medicine and whether it would be legal to bring it into the U.S.<BR><BR>Does anyone know whether it is safe to transport cold medicines and other medications into the US? What types of medications should we be most concerned with? I realize that codeine in cough medicine is probably a problem, that is the main reason I dumped the medicine before getting on the plane.

Old Apr 2nd, 2001, 11:20 AM
Thyra

Well I think you were wise to dump the cold medicine that contains codine. I am not an expert on this, but I know that when you leave the US, if you are taking any kind of medication you need to take copies of your perscriptions both to A) Make sure you dont' run afowl of some other countries narcotics law and B) To be sure that if, you loose your medication or need a refill you have documentation. <BR>One time I had a US customs inspector take out some over the counter antihistimine that I had bought in Germany, out of my bag, open the container, remove a pill and really scrutinize it, but he ended up putting it back and letting me carry on.

Old Apr 2nd, 2001, 11:39 AM
Christina