Bilbao/San Sebastian

Old Nov 30th, 2003, 03:32 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bilbao/San Sebastian

I will be going to Spain in mid march for 12 days. I will be flying into Madrid from LA and out of Barcelona to home. Now I just need to connnect the dots.

Plan A: Madrid for 4 days, Fly to Bilboa/San Sebastian for 2 days/ Barcelona for the rest.

What worries me is how far is San Sebastian from Bilboa? Is it the right time of the year. Basque country has been one of my dream destinations because of all the food. Please help me out.
Old Nov 30th, 2003, 06:03 AM

laubowski,
Bilbao and San Sebastián are about an hr. apart by car-96 km.
It takes about 1 hr. 10-15 min. by bus.

I'm not an expert on weather in the Basque Country in mid-March, since we mostly travel there in summer.
But our two great native Basque posters, cova and cristina (from Bilbao and S.S. respectively) can tell you what to expect.

2 days for both cities seems short to me. I'd add at least a day, since you're spending the money to fly. There are flights from S.S. to Barcelona on Iberia (the S.S. airport is actually in Hondarribia to the east) and more from Bilbao, where fares are much lower thanks to competition with Spanair.

Otherwise, it's a 6 hr. drive from S.S. to Barcelona.

There's also the 8-9 hr. Miguel de Unamuno train starting in Bilbao and stopping in S.S. or the Pío Baroja night train.

Vibasa is the bus co. from S.S. to Barcelona, The Plus service (fewer stops) takes 6 1/2 hrs.
See schedule here:

http://www.barcelonanord.com/eng/hor...n&cuentaLink=1
Old Nov 30th, 2003, 06:39 AM

In case you won't be driving between SanSebastian and Bilbao, there is frequent and efficient bus service.
Old Nov 30th, 2003, 11:48 AM
car

laubowski,