Best cities in Europe for nightlife

Jul 10th, 2006, 01:34 PM
Original Poster

Best cities in Europe for nightlife

Hi,
I'm trying to help a friend of mine plan a 3 month tour around Europe - she's a very different kind of traveller than I am (I prefer nature, quaint towns, etc) - she wants exciting cities with nightlife.
I'm studying to be a travel agent so I have good general knowledge of most cities, even though I've only been to London/Paris/Vienna/Venice out of the ones I'm recommending.
I'll probably recommend the major ones - London, Paris, Rome, Vienna, Berlin, Munich, Madrid, Barcelona, Venice, along with Nice and Biarritz for some beach time.
Anyone have any other ideas of places that would fit the bill?
Jul 10th, 2006, 01:52 PM
Original Poster

Oh, and Amsterdam of course.
Jul 10th, 2006, 05:50 PM

Prague and Barcelona would top my list, but not Venice for nitelife.
Jul 10th, 2006, 06:18 PM

Milan and Rome.

Antwerp.
Jul 10th, 2006, 06:31 PM

Barcelona, Lisbon, Sevilla, Prague
Jul 10th, 2006, 06:41 PM

I'm partial to Paris, even though the club scene is almost non-existent. My husband loves Copenhagen and Barcelona in the summer. Venice is pretty lame. If she's visiting Paris, here's a list of my favorite bars:

http://www.parisescapes.com/paris_bars.html

Jul 10th, 2006, 07:33 PM
Original Poster

Yah, I know there's not much in Venice for nightlife - but everyone has to see Venice! I'm going to recommend that she at least spend a day or two there, because she wants to go to exciting places, but she can appreciate culture and beauty too. And when you're travelling for that long you need some down time!
Jul 10th, 2006, 09:09 PM

What about Budapest?
Jul 10th, 2006, 09:18 PM

Definetly not Venice lol. Venice has no night life! Amsterdam rocks! Rome was a blast at night. Nice and Cannes are fun on a smaller scale although the people in Cannes were very snobby. I was bored in Paris in the evening. Madrid was a blast!